Tarantino's The Hateful Eight and Agatha Christie

Hello Agatha Christie fans: My name is Linda Barnard and I am a movie writer at the Toronto Star. I am doing a story on plot points/themes common to Agatha Christie that show up in Quentin Tarantino's The Hateful Eight. If any among you in this expert group have wisdom to share, I would be grateful. I am thinking of And Then There Were None, the blizzard in the Mousetrap, etc.

Comments

• Could you please outline some of the plot points/themes of The Hateful Eight.
  • Sorry to be negative, but, having read WIKI about the plot of THE, I would say that it is extremely crude and bloodthristy, with little mystery, and less imagination. I have often seen similarities between Coumbo plots and AC plots, but I see no way that a film about random killings can be like an AC novel. THE is like a computer game in which people get killed in dramatic ways. AC is interested in real human dilemmas, frustrations and hypocricies, and temptation spilling over into wickedness, and how the need to conceal a crime leads to a blunting of the conscience. She likes to feature what we would call sociopaths, people with complex minds who can scheme and deceive - but there will only be one of them, usually, and the other characters are normal.. THE seems just to be about the exercise of power. Characatures of real people behave abnormally and I imagine no audience would care about these people. The idea of people all being trapped together sounds like Murder on the Orient Express and And Then There Were None, but there the similarity ends.
  • Just to say, Linda Barnard, sorry, not at all helpful of me just to sound off with my opinions. I am sure that will shortly receive a much more helpful response, as some forum members know the plot of every novel in great detail.