Agatha Christie on sale at Ebay.

I notice two signed? books by Agatha Christie have been offered for sale on Ebay. The seller quotes that these books (and quite a few recently listed and sold) were part of the Shuttleworth Family collection and that these books belonged to Anthony Shuttleworth , the godson of Agatha Christie. Is there such a collection and was this Anthony the godson of Dame Agatha? I am not too sure about the signature as all the books listed and sold by this seller are  in black ink and are identical in appearance. ( used with a tracing pen perhaps). Any thoughts please.

Comments

• GKCfanGKCfan Wisconsin, United States
    I'm no expert in handwriting, but I'd be very careful with signed books.  Christie wasn't known for autographing too many of her books, and a whole lot of supposedly signed Christie books are forgeries.  Since Christie's signature is reproduced on many covers, numerous people have tried to trace it.  A particularly egregious example would be some autographed copies of Sleeping Murder– this is an obvious fraud because the novel was published posthumously!

I don't know anything about Mr. Shuttleworth, either, I'm afraid.  

I think the listings have ended anyway, but I wouldn't buy an "autographed" Christie novel without doing extensive research into the provenance.  It looks like one of them sold for about $400, which seems cheap when a letter by Christie sold for $25,000 a while ago on eBay...